2011 Colorado State 4-wall Singles Results

  The Colorado State Singles tournament had 64 participants playing in ten divisions.  The tournament was held at the Apex Racquetball and Fitness Center in Arvada on April 8-10.  The Apex facility (formerly called North Jeffco Rec Center) has possibly the “fastest” courts in Colorado and they are kept in great condition by the facility staff.  The Apex center has eight courts which minimized delays and allowed for consolation play in almost every division.

The CHA would like to thank the facility manager, Brent Anderson, and his staff for allowing us to conduct the State Singles tournament at the Apex Center.  We look forward to working with the facility to hold future state tournaments.

We had great competition among all entrants including 14 Colorado School of Mines students.  Gene Schneider has had great success with the handball program at CSM and many of the students will be life long players. 

Some of the tournament highlights include Tyler Stevens winning his third straight Singles’ championship.  Armando Ibarra, Sr. won the A round robin.  Spencer Arnesen won his first championship in the Bs over Mike Spier.  Donna Mosely won the C division over Rafael Ibarra after he had to forfeit due to an ankle injury. The masters division had four entrants and a round robin format was played.  The results ended up with a three-way tie.  The winner was decided by looking at head to head competition, overall wins and losses, total points accumulated and total points given up.  Ken Patterson edged out Brett Nickal after looking at all of the variables.  Other winners included Joel Carlman in the Novice, Lloyd Garcia in the Golden Masters, Dan Price in the Super Masters, Lewis Lambert in the Veteran Super Masters, and Bill Reich in the Diamond Masters.

The tournament directors, Fred Sycuro, Jim Hoyt, and Stan Dunlavy congratulate all winners and thank everyone that played in the tournament.  A special thanks to Debbie Parker for making sure that the hospitality was first class throughout the event.  We also appreciate the support of Costigan Youth Handball for sponsoring the younger players (i.e., Colorado School of Mines and other students).  The following people (and businesses) were also responsible for helping make this a great event:  Justin Bauer, Ron Bronner, Tim Brown, Jim Hoyt, Lewis Lambert, Pam Levine, Marty Mercer, Fred Sycuro, Dan Price, Steve Rothstein, Don & Gail Stewart, Jim Thiessen, Jim Traut, Gene Schneider, Debbie Parker, Dennis Parker, Cody Parker, Stan Dunlavy, Half-Fast Subs, Mannie & Bos Pizzeria, and a special handball friend.